Atletico Madrid

History of Atletico Madrid

Atletico Madrid logo

The history of the modern Atletico Madrid

In the season 1999-00, having occupied the 19th place, “mattresses” after 65 years of residence in the elite fell into the second division. Under the guidance of Luis Aragones in the summer of 2002, they came back as an example.

May 27, 2001, the debut of Fernando Torres, who subsequently became Captain Atletico at the age of 19, took place. In 2006, Portuguese midfielder Kostiña and Maniche, Argentinean Sergio Aguero, joined him, but the team was able to take only 7th place in the championship. After leaving Fernando Torres and Martin Petrov in 2007 in the English Premier League, Luis Garcia, Diego Forlán, Simão Sabroza appeared in Atlético. Season 2007/08 has become the best in the last decade – 4th place in the league.
In 2008, having defeated Schalke 04 in the third qualifying round, after a 12-year break, “mattresses” made their way to the Champions League group round where they could take second place in the group, never losing and skipping forward Liverpool. In the 1/8 finals, Atlético met Porto and lost only on the number of goals on another’s field (2: 2 at home and 0-0 away).
On May 13, 2010, in an intense and stubborn match with Fulham at the Hamburg Arena in the German city of Hamburg, Atlético won 2-1 with an extra time and thus became the first holder of the updated tournament of the Europa League. Diego Forlan scored 32 and 116 minutes in the team’s squad. In the UEFA Super Cup, which took place on Monaco on August 28, 2010, at the stadium “Louis II”, “Atlético” won the UEFA Champions League 2009/10 winner with a 2: 0 Milan Inter.

On May 9, 2012, having defeated Atlético Bilbao with a score of 3: 0, he became the 2nd multiple holder of the Europa League.
On August 31, 2012, having regained Chelsea with a score of 4: 1, he became a 2-fold winner of the UEFA Super Cup.
In October 2012, at the invitation of the President of FC “Baku” Hafiza Mamedova, General Manager of “Atletico” Miguel Angel Hil visited Azerbaijan. During the visit, an agreement was signed on cooperation between the clubs “Baku” and the Madrid “Atletico”. In December 2012, the club signed a $ 16 million contract for a year and a half with the Ministry of Tourism of the Republic of Azerbaijan. On December 1, 2012 in Madrid, a ceremony for submitting an agreement on cooperation between “Atletico” and the Azerbaijani side took place, as well as a memorable form with the inscription “Azerbaijan Land of fire” was displayed. For the first time, Atletico players came out on the field in the form with a logo of the ministry in December 2012 in a friendly match against Real Madrid.
In 2013, at 1/16 of the Europa League, Atlético lost to Kazan’s Rubin with a general score of 1: 2.

In the national championship of 2013/14 the club was among the main applicants for the title, issuing a series of victories in the first eight meetings. In the last game of the Spanish Championship 2013/14 in the “golden match” with the “Barcelona” team played a draw 1: 1 and after 18 years again became the champion of the country, having scored 90 points.

Speech in the Champions League in the 2013/2014 season, the club began with a victory over the Russian “Zenith” at the group stage, from where with 16 points left in 1/8 of 1 place. On April 30, 2014, Atlético issued a ticket to the Champions League final, defeating London’s Chelsea in the return match of the semifinals with a score of 3: 1. In the first game, rivals did not score goals to each other. In the final opponent of “Atlético” became their fellow countrymen from Madrid. In the dramatic match Real Madrid in an extra time won with a 4: 1 score.

Losing in the offseason a number of key players led by Diego Costa, “mattress” in the Super Cups of Spain took a revenge on Real (1: 1, 1: 0). In the championship of Spain, the team ranked third. The decoration of the season was the Madrid derby in the second round, in which the main rival was defeated with a score of 4: 0.

Winners of the LCH, 28 May 2016.

Our team lost Real Madrid in the LF final, having defeated 120 minutes 1-1, losing the penalty 5-3. Yannick Carrasco scored for red and white. On the way to Milan, we won six champions of different leagues: Galatasaray, Astana, Benfica, PSV, FC Barcelona and Bayern.

Queen’s Cup, June 26, 2016.

The Women’s Atlético team won its first title in the Queen of Spain’s Queen’s Cup after winning the final against Barcelona FC (2-3). The goals scored Angela Sosa, Sylvia Meseguer, and Esther Gonzalez.

Atletico Madrid NEws